November 28, 2012

12 Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists announced

The list will be whittled down to three finalists in a vote by the state's coaches and the media.

By Tom Chard
Staff Writer

The 42nd James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists have been announced.

They are Brian Bedard, Leavitt Area High; Bobby Begin, Thornton Academy; Cale Bollig, Westbrook; Spencer Carey, Lawrence; Tate Gale, Portland; Donald Goodrich, Cheverus; Nick Leblond, Biddeford; Jack Lucy, Orono; Dillon Russo, Scarborough; Alex Shain, Sanford; Chandler Shostak, Cony, and Kenny Sweet Deering.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy has been awarded to the top high school football player in the state since 1971. It was open to all classes in the late 1990s and became a senior-only award soon after. The list will be whittled down to three finalists in a vote by the state's coaches and the media.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy will be awarded at the annual banquet on Sunday, Jan. 20 at the Holiday Inn By The Bay in Portland, beginning at noon.

Jordan Hersom of Leavitt won last year's trophy.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)


More PPH Blogs

High School Football 2013

Fall Sports 2012

Purchase Photos

Find more photos >>