November 16, 2012

Three more Maine legislative recounts completed

The Associated Press

AUGUSTA — Maine election officials say recounts are completed on three more legislative races with no changes in outcome.

click image to enlarge

Rep. Anne Graham of North Yarmouth

Courtesy photo

Secretary of State Charlie Summers said Friday that Democrat Wayne Werts remained the winner in House District 70, which includes Auburn and Lewiston; Democrat William Noon of Sanford remained the winner in House District 144, which includes Acton, Lebanon and Sanford; and Democrat Anne Graham of North Yarmouth remained the winner in House District 109, which includes Gray, North Yarmouth and Pownal.

The latest recounts bring the total completed so far to six, with seven legislative recounts pending.

The process should be completed after Thanksgiving. All recounts are conducted at the Department of Public Safety headquarters in Augusta.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)